Jump to the main content block

Introduction and Organization

Introduction and Organization
R&D Committee
The Office of Research and Development of National Cheng Kung University was formerly known as " The Committee of Research and Development" , abbreviated as the "R&D Committee" . The R&D Committee was established in the October, 1971.

Three Divisions Underneath
In July, 1991 , the former President of NCKU Dr. Jer-Ru Maa appointed Prof. Hunf-Shan Weng as the Executive General of the R&D Committee. It was in November of the same year when the three divisions underneath were established. They were named "The Division of University Development", "The Division of Project Management" and "The Division of Academic Coordination".

Office of Research & Development
With the rapid development of the University in recent years, the duties and the amount of work expected of the R&D Committee have significantly increased. It became necessary to re-establish the committee into a multi-functional office in coping with the urgent demand of various responsibilities. Therefore, the 5th University Affairs Council of 1994 successfully renewed the 8th article of the revised organization regulation and the committee of Research and Development was renamed "The Office of Research & Development" . In addition to the three divisions , an instrument development center in charge of the organizing and planning functions of the instruments to be purchased and manufactured in the university was established under the Office of Research & Development.

In August, 2014, the new two divisions were established. They were named " Division of Innovative Research and Development" and " Division of Institutional Research". At the same time, "The Division of Project Management" was name-changed to “Division of Project Administration and Assessment”.

In 2020, ORD was reorganized and repositioned itself to aim for the excellence of academic performance and superior research infrastructure/environment. Since the role of "The Division of University Development" was gradually fading out, it has been removed in April, 2020. In February, 2021, instrument development center was integrated to Core Facility Center. Now the three divisions of ORD are “The Division of Institutional Research”, “The Division of Project Administration and Assessment” and “The Division of Innovative Research and Development.”